Physician or other licensed health care professional
Local Health Officer
California laws and regulations require physicians and other licensed health care professionals to report any known or suspected case of pesticide-related illness or injury to the Local County Health Officer within 24 hours. Please collect as much information as possible on the pesticide exposure from the patient during the examination and use one of the following four methods for reporting.
For a workers compensation case of pesticide illness or injury, in addition to reporting the case to the Local Health Officer within 24 hours using one of the previously stated methods, the physician must also file the Doctor's First Report of Occupational Injury or Illness Form (DFR) and send it to the patient’s employer or employer’s insurance carrier and to the Department of Industrial Relations within 5 days of the first visit, and to the Local Health Officer within 7 days of the first visit. If using electronic reporting, CalREDIE will conveniently fill and provide a DFR to be downloaded.
When local health officers receive reports of known or suspected cases of pesticide-related illness or injury from physicians and other licensed health care professionals, California laws and regulations require them to:
Per California law, local health officers may request assistance from OEHHA to conduct epidemiologic investigations of pesticide poisoning outbreaks and to develop recommendations to control or prevent poisonings. For reports on specific investigations, please select a link below:
OEHHA Contact Information: Pesticides@oehha.ca.gov or (510) 622-3170